About ADMA


The Australian Disease Management Association provides a forum and advocacy for the disease management industry to promote programs which improve chronic condition outcomes and quality of life and reduce acute healthcare utilisation and costs. The not-for-profit association represents all stakeholders in the industry and educates healthcare organisations, providers, funders and healthcare policy makers on disease management.

There are currently many disease management initiatives under way across Australia. These are occurring in the private and public sectors and are being funded by state and commonwealth government initiatives, grants and service negotiations. There are various models or components to Disease Management which include self-management, behaviour change, health risk assessments, disease specific programs and programs for complex co-morbid patients. Disease Management is in its infancy with many stakeholders and interested parties. As such an association to provide leadership and resource is timely.

ADMA is auspiced by Alfred Health 


Strategic Framework 2008 - 2012

ADMA has a white paper on disease management in Australia, including the results of a survey of 39 key stakeholders and opinion leaders in health and disease management is included as an appendix in the full document.

ADMA and Disease Management in Australia: A Strategic Framework 2008 - 2012

To comment on the framework please contact ADMA at 03 9076 4125.


Advisory Committee 


Prof Joseph Ibrahim (Honorary Co-Chair)
Prof Maximilian de Courten (Member)
Ms Kaylene Ryan (Executive Officer)
Adj/Prof Lisa Demos (Senior Research Scientist)
Prof Brian Oldenburg (Member)
Justine Waters (Member)


Education and Conference Committee

The members of the 2017 ADMA national conference committee are:

Dr Stephen Bunker (Medibank)
Jennifer Fry (Dept of Health- Vic)
Joanna Goodenough  (NSW Agency for Clinical Innovation)
A/Prof Lisa Demos (ADMA)
Carolyn Hines (DA - VIC)
Liz Kasteel/Deborah Butler (NT Dept of Health)
Prof Ines Krass (Uni Sydney)
Assoc/Prof George Margelis (Uni Western Sydney)
Leanne Drury (NT Dept of Health)
Prof Brian Oldenburg (University of Melbourne)
Regina Osten (NSW Agency for Clinical Innovation)
Kaylene Ryan (ADMA)
Alyson Ross (Gold Coast PHN)
Justine Waters (University of Technology Sydney)












ADMA gratefully appreciates the time and effort of the conference committee members in putting together the conference program as well as reviewing all the submitted abstracts and chairing sessions.